Authors Janette Oke
Janette Oke (Born in 193-)

Bestsellers & Award Winners
Books written by Janette Oke
Books written about Janette Oke
Titles Only in Alphabetical Order


Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") was born in Champion, Alberta, to a Canadian prairie farmer and his wife during the depression years. She attended Mountain View Bible College in Didsbury, Alberta and met her husband, Edward there. After they married, they pastored churches in Calgary and Edmonton, Canada and also Indiana. They are the parents of four children and many grandchildren. Edward was later president of Mountain View Bible College.

"Love Comes Softly" was her first book, published in 1979 and was the Christian fiction to be published by Bethany House. This book has seven sequels and it and the second book, "Love''s Enduring Promise," have both been made into Hallmark movies; both of which have won the Camie Award for "character and morality in entertainment." Her books have sold over 14 million copies and she received the President''s Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association in 1992. Then in 1999 she won the CBA Life Impact Award and the Gold Medallion Award for fiction. She is truly a pioneer of her own, in Christian romance novels.

Home | About Us | Products | Search | Award Winners | Bibles | Books About Books
Classic Sets | Homeschool | Terms | Contact Us | Checkout

2005 Fireside Classics Bookstore. All rights reserved.